You are here

2010 RAMMY Winners

June 11, 2010

Dusty Lockhart, Three Lockharts Communications, 202- 664-9881,
Betsy Allman, Restaurant Association Metropolitan Washington, 202.331.5990,





Scott Drewno wins coveted Chef of the Year award, 2941honored as Fine Dining Restaurant of the Year and  Birch & Barley named Best New Restaurant


(Washington, DC – June 6, 2010)  Over 1,500 guests donned stunning 1940’s glamclothing to fit the Casablancatheme of “We’ll Always Have… Restaurants” at last night’s RAMMY Awards gala. ScottDrewno, executive chef of The Source by Wolfgang Puck in Washington,DC took home the highly coveted Chef of theYear award at the Restaurant Association Metropolitan Washington’s annual eventand 2941 in Falls Church, VA was named the Fine Dining Restaurant ofthe Year.


Also honored at the event was Nicolas Stefanelli, executive chef at Bibianaas Rising Culinary Star; Alexandria’sVermilion won Upscale Casual Restaurant; DC’s BLT Steak captured the title ofPower Spot and Best Wine Program went to Proof. The publicly voted YourFavorite Restaurant award went to Co Co. Sala, last year’s Hottest Bar Scenewinner. Birch & Barley won as Best New Restaurant and PS7’s as thefirst-time Beverage/Mixology Program of the Year category winner.


Anotherfirst for the year is the change in format for the 28 year-old event. Thisyear, in lieu of presenting awards during a seated dinner, awards werepresented during a theatre-style seated ceremony. A celebration with dinner anddancing following in the Salon ballroom.

“The RAMMYS are the party of the year. Not only forthe Metropolitan Washington restaurant community but also for the diners andfoodies that appreciate our incredibly vibrant dining scene,” said LynneBreaux, President of RAMW.


The RAMMY Awards honor achievements and excellence in the MetropolitanWashington restaurant industry. Established in 1982 by the RestaurantAssociation Metropolitan Washington, portions of the RAMMY Awards Gala supportthe RAMW Education Foundation. On Sunday, June 6th over 1,500 guestsattended the 40’s glam themed black tie event at the stunning Marriott WardmanPark Hotel. A complete list of winners follows:



2010 RAMMY Award Winners:


Chef of the Year

Scott Drewno –The Source by Wolfgang Puck, Washington DC


Fine Dining Restaurant

2941, Falls Church VA


Rising Culinary Star

Nicolas StefanelliBibiana,Washington DC


Best New Restaurant

Birch & Barley,Washington DC


Power Spot

BLT Steak, WashingtonDC


Neighborhood GatheringPlace

Cork Wine Bar, WashingtonDC


Upscale Casual

Vermilion, AlexandriaVA


Hottest Restaurant Bar Scene

Birch & Barley/Churchkey, WashingtonDC




Pastry Chef

Anthony Chavez – 2941,Falls Church VA



Joan Hisaoka AssociateMember

ProChile/Wines of Chile



PS7’s, Washington DC


Wine Program

Proof, WashingtonDC



Restaurant Employee

Adolfo Cajchon – Seasons, WashingtonDC


Restaurant Manager

Mark Politzer – Bourbon Steak, Washington DC


Your Favorite Restaurant (voted by online/newspaper ballot)

CoCo. Sala, Washington, DC


Duke Zeibert Capital Achievement Award

Bob Madigan


WHERE MAGAZINE Visitors’ Choice Award

The Capital Grille


2009 RAMMY Honorary Award

The Monocle on Capitol Hill



About the Restaurant Association Metropolitan Washington

Established in 1920, RAMW is proud to be the voice of theMetropolitan Washington food service industry and establishments ofhospitality. RAMW has over 700 members and promotes and lobbies on behalf ofthe restaurant industry. RAMW “Fights for the Right to Eat, Drink and BeMerry.” For information on RAMW please visit